Isola Maggiore

Situated in Lago Trasimeno, Italy is the intriguing Isola Maggiore. The island is steeped in history dating back to the Roman times. It is written that Saint Francis of Assisi made a 40 day lenten retreat on the island in about 1211. A visit to this little island can be like a step back in time. That was especially true for me as I walked the area near one particular church!

Situated on the highest point of the island is the 12th century Church of Saint Michael the Archangel. The contrast of the church’s bell tower against blue sky and the ancient olive trees that embrace the structure inspired me! That inspiration resulted in two paintings of The Church of Saint Michael the Archangel.

isola maggioreblog 2
The Chiesa di San Michele Arcangelo, oil on canvas panel 18 x 24 cm

Olive trees surviving a draught in Italy resulted in dramatic earth colors and contrast on Isola Maggiore this summer. I was trying to capture the feeling of the heat and dryness there when I painted this piece.

L'olivo e la Chiesa di Isola Maggiore 2
The Visitors, oil on canvas board 30 x 20 cm

The second painting I did was inspired by the light on massive olive tree next to the church. I tried to capture the feeling of peace represented by olive tree and the nuns visiting the place where Saint Frances once roamed.

Working on these paintings has been a great experience and I hope that you have enjoyed viewing them!

Ciao

Luigi

4 thoughts on “Isola Maggiore

  1. I’m really enjoying the presence of life in your landscapes as of late. The rooster and the nuns help to offer some scale to the pieces, and a dynamic touch. I’d say you did a great job capturing the heat! I can’t wait to see what you do next, Esmerelda.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

