Plein Air Painting at Dinky Dock Park

The weather was great today and the morning light spectacular for painting plein air. So off I went with all of my stuff to Dinky Dock Park on the north shore of Lake Virginia in Winter Park, Florida.

I have been working on filling the canvas quickly and making note of the light.  So with a 9 x 12 panel I did a quick sketch and started filling in the broad areas with flat tones. Didn’t quite finish but I will go back to Dinky Dock at the same time tomorrow and try to catch the same light for final resolution.

Dinky Dock A

Anyway I did take a few photos of my work in progress, enjoyed every minute of this one!

Dinky Dock1

I really struggled with this painting and finally removed the dock entirely. Then I increased the depth by adding more of the hanging Spanish moss to create a forward plane.

FullSizeRender

This painting is 9″ x 12″ oil on panel plein air.

Leave a comment